I picked Poetry Speaks Who I Am up at the library because I thought it would be great practice with the students I tutor. The book comes with a cd with recordings of the poets reading their poems. I love to hear a poem read by the original poet because then you are hearing it the way they hear it in their heads.

I ended up sitting down and reading this entire collection of poetry in one sitting. It is designed for middle school and high school students, but can certainly be enjoyed by an adult reader. Some of the poems brought back emotions and worries that I haven’t experienced in years, while others were still very relevant to my life.

This was not a life altering or shattering collection of poems, but I can see that it may be for a young adult struggling with those uncertain years. I sipped some English Breakfast tea because it was my favorite when I was in school. I truly enjoyed the nostalgia brought on by poems like “In the Fifth Grade Locker Room” and “Baseball”.

Leave a Reply

