This book was recommended to me by a friend, and although it seemed like a book that I would love, I just kept carrying it around. I would pull it off the shelf intending to read it but after carrying it for awhile and never cracking the cover, it would end up back on the shelf. Once I finally started reading, however, I couldn’t put it down.

Cane River by Lalita Tademy has a truly unique premise. The author did research into her own family history and then crafted a novel based on what she learned about her own family line. It traces a line of strong women that starts in slavery and ends in the 1930s.

The strength of these women is intoxicating. They face pains that I cannot even fathom and yet because of the bonds of family and their own persevering personalities they bring about their own happiness and satisfaction.

I literally did not want to put this book down and found myself fighting for time to read it. A story of strong women, race, and family ties, this book is a must read. I read it with sweet white tea and oranges.

The sweet white tea is made with white tea but made the same a traditional sweet tea. oranges are then quartered and added to the brew. Left to set the tea takes on a beautiful citrus twist. The tea is strong and the oranges fresh, a perfect mix for the strength and beauty found in Cane River. 

Leave a Reply

