I prefer knowing the general premise of a novel before I begin reading, but with Franny and Zooey, I literally had no idea what I was starting. This ignorance on my part (which would have been easily corrected had I not been lazy) left me lost for the first part of the novel. It turns out that Franny and Zooey are siblings in a pretty unique family.

Franny and Zooey had received a very unique education at the hands of their older brothers. This approach leaves them with a host of emotional, intellectual, and spiritual issues. Salinger, however, shows that regardless of our own imperfections and the imperfections of others, we must love people simply for being people. That message is powerful, easy to lose track of, and vitally important.

The story’s strength is in the sharp writing by J.D. Salinger. The dialogue between characters is witty and fast. The character and scene descriptions are vivid in their attention to small details and spotlighting of features. Small movements by characters give the characters life and personality. This is my first novel by Salinger and I’m looking forward to reading his other writings.

I paired this novel with whiskey tea because I felt like the characters all needed a drink in hand. They all smoke heavily and I continued to picture whiskey even though no drink was described. The smoothness and slight burning heat are a perfect companion to Franny and Zooey.

One thought on “Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger with Whiskey Tea

Leave a Reply

