Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is one of my favorite authors and I love to hear her speak. When I watched the video of her speech at TEDxEuston, I knew that I needed to get a copy of the speech. We Should All Be Feminists is a modified version of that speech from 2012. Each word is moving and honest. When I read I often look for lines that are particularly moving or important, this entire piece is full of moving or important bits.

Everyone should read this because everyone should truly be a feminist. Adichie lays out this point in a way that is impossible to ignore. She also focuses on the need to change out culture, our society, our attitudes more than just our laws. I love the focus on raising not just our daughters but out sons differently.

Peppermint tea was my perfect compliment. The honest straight forward taste of the tea matches the honesty of the text. Allow yourself to be challenged by Adichie.

Leave a Reply

